Veganmofo 2009 – The (UK) Vegan 100

Most of you will have seen the various versions of the Vegan 100 floating around the blogosphere. I was frustrated by seeing all those great vegan wares in the Portland one, and so I decided to do my own UK based version! I shamelessly stole from various blogs and websites, and asked many of you for help. Thanks to all who contributed and apologies to those  who had great ideas which I ignored! Some of it is fairly specific. I kept it that way deliberatley, so shoot me!

Your mission, should you choose to accept it:

1) Copy this list into your own blog, including these instructions.
2) Bold all the items you’ve eaten.
3) Cross out any items that you would never consider eating.
4) Post a comment here once you’ve finished and link your post back to this one.
5) Pass it on!

If you don’t have a blog, just let me know your total in the comments. I’m going to post it first in its naked glory so you can copy and paste it without reformatting and messing about, then next week I’ll add my own crossings out and bolds, so you can see my total!

All items on the list refer to the vegan version. Please don’t contact me to tell me that butter isn’t vegan, for example. I mean a vegan version of it!

Hampshire watercress
Haggis
Montezumas chocolate
Melting mozarella Cheezly
Tartex
Granose Mock Duck
Sosmix
Churros at Terre a Terre
Yorkshire pudding
Beans on toast
Crumpets
Mushy peas
Aldi croissants
Bourbon biscuits
Holland and Barrett fruit flapjacks
Linda McCartney sausages and chips
Marmite on toast
Kent black cherries
Marmite breadsticks
Beanfeast
Sunday roast at The George
Anything at Birmingham’s curry mile
Rhubarb crumble with Swedish Glace
Paskin’s full breakfast
Jersey Royal potatoes swimming in butter
Evesham asparagus
Potato farls
Bubble and Squeak
Sticky toffee pudding
Irn Bru
Bacon buttie with tomato sauce
Marigold bouillon powder
Booja Booja truffles
Scones and jam
Bird’s custard
Anything at Dandelion and Burdock
White chocolate
A bought pizza with cheese in the UK
Hot cross buns
Staffordshire oatcakes
Bread and butter pudding
Summer pudding
Pickled onions
Potato from the Baked Potato Shop in Edinburgh
Wetherspoons curry
Irish stew with dumplings
Mashed carrot and swede
Pease pudding
Christmas pudding
Cranachan
Blue Sheese
Faggots
English muffins
Pringles
Scotch broth
Walker’s prawn cocktail crisps
Mildred’s mushroom and ale pie
Masala dosa
Realeat fishcakes
Worcestershire sauce
Mushroom ketchup 
Pickled walnuts
Ribena
Anything at Vbites
Co-op donuts
Picalilli
Ryvita
Anything at Saf
Chip shop curry sauce and chips
Parmezano
Warehouse Café bangers and mash
Innocent Smoothie
Vimto
Eccles cake
Semolina pudding with jam
Linda McCartney country pie
Scallop (potato fritter)
Elderflower cordial
Spotted dick
Victoria plum
Marigold braised tofu
Clive’s pie
Wagamama Yasai Chilli Men
Sarsaparilla 
Spring cabbage
Holland and Barrett Porkless Pie
Henderson’s relish
Scottish raspberries
Scouse
Colcannon
Fry’s Peppermint Cream
Hobnobs
Roast parsnips
Booja Booja ice cream
Champ
Pimms
Rice pudding
Nuttolene
Beef and Tomato Pot Noodle
Sesame Snaps

21 thoughts on “Veganmofo 2009 – The (UK) Vegan 100

  1. I love this list so much! You all have the best names for things! bubble and Squeak? fabulous! Potato farls? Hobnobs! Love it! I don’t even need to eat these things to enjoy their names!

  2. linda mccartney’s range keeps on being ‘improved’ so most, if not all of the range is not even vegan any more 😦

    plus at wagamama, the use the same hot plate/ griddle thing for both meat and veg so there’s contamination 😦 boo

    i love the redwoods stuff-much better than sheese to me!
    Alpro chocolate milk!
    anything from provamel
    plamil
    allergycare chocolate beans!
    humdinger tangerine chocolate!
    mrs crimbles dutch fruit loaf!
    haribo cola breeze
    belvoir elderflower cordial

    ooooooooooo making me hungry!

  3. Bugger. I’ve heard of most of the things on the US lists, but only about half of the things on this one! Who the bejeebus is Clive? Mildred? What’s Dandelion and Burdock’s? So terribly confused…! I’ve had everything on Bazu’s list, though 😉

  4. good list (sarsaparilla, fry’s peppermint cream, tartex, homnomnom). Beanfeast brough back memories and caused my wife and I to go on an unsuccessful quest to find some – do you know where they still sell it? I need some convenient-vegan-comfort food whilst I mourn the loss of Walker’s Salt & Vinegar crisps!

  5. I think beanfeast is still for sale at Sainsbury’s. I remember starting at University and there was a packet in everyone’s Freshers pack – I was eating them for years.

  6. Churros from Terre a Terre! OMG I had these when I was in the UK earlier this year and they were so good! With the chocolate sauce and vodka sozzled cherries… I am not a drinker so by the time I had finished mine and also what my friend left over, I was feeling slightly sozzled myself. Hee.
    A few things on the list bringing back nostalgic holiday memories of food. 😀

Leave a comment